In BlogLovin, the ownership verification process is termed "claiming your blog".
Claiming your blog involves installing a BlogLovin link, with embedded token, on your blog where it can be seen, by the BlogLovin claim verification process. Getting the claim link, from the BlogLovin dashboard, is not an obvious process.
Not every blog owner is able to get the BlogLovin blog claiming link, for their blog.
- Some folks can't find the "Claim blog" button.
- Others don't provide the right URL, into the "Claim blog" window.
If you have either problem, you end up unable to "claim your blog".
Finding the "Claim" button is not obvious.
You start the Claim process from the "Blog analytics" display. In some instructions, this is referred to as "My blogs". There is no menu selection to "Claim your blog".
From the home page, click "View all in Analytics".
From "Blog Analytics", click on "Edit blog settings".
Find the blue "Claim blog" button.
BlogLovin needs the blog published URL - not the blog feed URL.
Observe the caption in the "Claim blog" window.
When you provide the URL, only provide the published URL - not the blog feed. This works best if the blog publishes a feed, and if the blog has a standard Blogger header. BlogLovin gets the feed URL from the blog header - when the URL is there.
Paste the published URL of the blog - not the blog feed - into the window, and hit "Search".
Select your blog.
And, there is the BlogLovin link, with an embedded token.
Now, you install the token on your blog - and that is another source of confusion.
Not every #Blogger blog owner is able to verify ownership of their blog, to BlogLovin. Some folks can't find the "Claim blog" button - and others don't know what URL to provide, in the "Claim blog" process.
And the term "claim blog" is not obvious, to everybody, either.
Part of the spam review process involves verifying that a spam review request is needed.
Not every blog owner understands the reason for not requesting spam review, needlessly. A blog has to be owned under the Google account being used, and locked as a suspected spam host, for a spam review to be useful.
A spam review, when properly conducted, starts with the "Restore" / "Review" buttons, in the "Deleted blogs" section of the personal Blogger dashboard. As of December 2014, the "Restore" / "Review" buttons are not working for everybody - and this is causing some confusion.
Dashboard restore / review requests, when submitted by the owner using the buttons in "Deleted blogs", provide two functions.- They provide some level of convenience, to the owner.
- They provide some level of assurance, to the owner and to Blogger Support, that the blogs need spam review.
The buttons provide convenience to the blog owner, because the owner can initiate a restore (for a blog that they was previously deleted, within 90 days), or request automated review (of blogs deleted by Blogger, for suspected TOS violations). This allows the owner to recover a deleted or locked blog, without spending time in Blogger Help Forums.
The buttons provide assurance to the blog owner, and to Blogger Support, that no blog deleted, by Blogger or the owner, will be released by request of someone other than the owner. The appropriate button, for any deleted blog, is only present on the dashboard of the legal blog owner, who can then initiate restore or review.
There are several cases, which don't require a spam review.- The blog was deleted, as a suspected spam host, but under another account.
- The blog was deleted, because this account was locked, as a hacking victim.
- The blog was deleted, because another account was locked, as a hacking victim.
- The blog was deleted, because another account was locked, for a TOS Violation.
Only one specific case requires a spam review.- The blog in question was deleted or locked as a suspected spam blog, and is owned by the Google account being used to request restore / review.
All other cases, which involve deleted or locked blogs, result in the owner waiting for Blogger Policy Review to return a verdict that they can't review a blog that was not deleted as a suspected spam host. Blogger Policy Review works from a long queue - and if we refer problems to them, that they cannot resolve, their queue gets longer.
Ownership verification starts with the owner supplying a screen print of "Deleted blogs". The screen print is inconvenient for the owner - and for the helpers in Blogger Support Forum, who must carefully verify that spam review is required - but it's a necessary inconvenience. This happens only when the owner is able and willing to cooperate, and provide a usable screen print.
Verifying ownership is a righteous task - even if it makes the spam review preliminaries longer, and seemingly pedantic.
>> Top